Twenty Fifteen Books

Writing jams; Percy Sledge.

Hey there, it’s Tina.
My goal was to read twenty books before the year was up. Seeing how I started this goal in June and didn’t try very hard, I still made it to sixteen books.  I’m not going to name them all, but I’d like to mention the memorable ones.

Wonder Show by Hannah Barnaby

 I was drawn in by the cover, but I put it back on the shelf because the last time I got a book based on the cover it turned out to be shit. Luckily, Rebecca saw it too and told me I should get it. And I’m sure glad I did.
It has all of the dark quirkiness of a Snicket book, but also the warmth of a friend.  It’s a story about a young girl who joins a traveling freak show in search of her father. This simple plot line is full of odd characters, at least they are on the outside. The characters carry so much wisdom, pain, loss, and loyalty. It gives this book so much soul, which is why I love it. I wish I could just quote the entire thing right here, but I think you should just read it instead.
Five shining stars out of five.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

This was almost word for word with the movie (and I know you know every single line from it, you homeschooled nerd.) With the exception of a few signature lines that were actually added to the movie. But it was still enjoyable being read to by a middle aged man with a New York accent (I listened to it on audio book, which I think really added to the experience.)
Three and a half stars out of five.

Flora’s Dare by Ysabeau S. Wilce

This is the second book in the Flora Trilogy. I love this series because of all the completely mad things that happen. Magikal rock concerts, a monster beneath the city, a house with infinite rooms. The main character, Flora, is very realistic. While trying to find a way to save everyone she has to do the dishes. She’s fat. She gets tired. Hungry. Irritated. She’s self conscious, but doesn’t let that stand in her way.
The world that the author created is so rich in history, fashion, and culture. It’s all very absurd and I love it. It’s quite the read, and I’m sure if you enjoyed Harry Potter you’ll like these books.
Five out of five.

The Dead Gentleman by Matthew Cody

 A story about a boy who is part of a secret society of Explorers, who travel between different worlds, and a girl who gets caught in the middle of war. This book had me on edge, it made me tear up, it just might have been near perfect it weren’t for this one thing. This one thing really took away from the rest of the epic-ness….But it was still a fun read, and reminded me a little bit of the first Shades of London book.
Three out of five.

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place by Maryrose Wood

 Our main character, Penelope, has grown as an orphan at a school for Poor Bright Females. Her first real taste of the world comes when she is hired to be a governess for three siblings at a large estate. Being sheltered and highly self disciplined; Penelope’s view on the world and the people in it make up for some highly amusing interactions and ideas.There is also an underlying mystery throughout this book, which I’d rather save for you when you read it.
These books are incredibly well written. The style is a beautiful mix of Austen and Snicket. If you’re into Mary Poppins and any British period pieces, then I highly recommend.
Four out of five.

To Kill A Mocking Bird by Harper Lee

 Simply put, I think the reason why this book is so popular is because it feels like home. For me, quite literally does it feel like home. Growing up a tomboy in a country setting. Having know it all older brothers. Sitting around parlors in your Sunday best while listening to your elder church ladies talk. Even Scout’s relationship with her father, I find similarities in it with my own.
But this book is popular worldwide. Many different types of people love this book. And I believe it’s because everyone can find a sense of home within it’s pages. It was calming and friendly.
The plot and characters seem so simple, but the beauty in it is they’re actually very complex. Lee slowly unveils humanity to you in a raw form. She shows you that people aren’t very different from each other as you might think. And I think if you haven’t already, you should read this book.
Five out of five.

 

2 thoughts on “Twenty Fifteen Books

  1. What a great list, Tina! I love getting to see what other people favorite books are. “Wonder Show” has been in my TBR pile for a while. I think I might just have to move it up…

    Like

Leave a Reply

